Business - Featured - Finance - February 23, 2021

Gvt appoints new members to the MPC


Government, through the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development has appointed new members to the Monetary Policy Committee after the last one was dissolved end of January.

The MPC is one of the main committees of the Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe (RBZ) and is responsible for setting the monetary policy stance.  The MPC works closely with the staff of RBZ in monitoring internal and external economic conditions. In formulating the monetary policy direction, MPC makes assessments and policy decisions based upon data provided by the RBZ.

Newly appointed members includes a PhD in Economics from the University of Pretoria and lecturer at University of Zimbabwe(UZ) Professor Albert Makochekanwa, Economist Persistence Elison Gwanyanya, Economist Dr Daniel Makina, Former Nedbank Managing Director Dr Charity Jinya and Mathila Dzumbubu who is listed on the Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe’s website among its corporate governance board members.

Finance and Economic Development Minister, Mthuli Ncube said he is confident that the new appointees will further strengthen the RBZ MPC.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Export incentives drive gold deliveries to record high in June

Zimbabwe’s export incentives have seen gold deliveries to Fidelity Printers and Refiners r…